Hello World!

I guess it’s kind of traditional to start a blog with a bit of background about the who, what, and why… so here goes!

provence-2006-05-171.jpg

Who: I’m an IT consultant with a degree in Economics and a Computer Science major. Mostly I work in the Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing space, but I also like to build stuff, and so I’ve done a lot of work coding in Java, and over the last couple of years, Ruby. I started contributing to Rubinius in October 2007, with most of my interest and effort focused on the Rubinius compiler and debugger. You can find me on the #rubinius IRC channel as agardiner.

What: This blog is intended to focus on Rubinius, a new implementation of Ruby that is written predominantly in Ruby, and which is accelerating towards a 1.0 release. If you haven’t heard of Rubinius, there are a bunch of good resources you can read to get up to speed; see the links in the sidebar.

Why: I’m starting this blog as a way to share my knowledge, raise the profile of Rubinius, and encourage others to jump in. Since Rubinius is Ruby built in Ruby, the barriers to entry are incredibly low to anyone with a decent knowledge of Ruby. This is quite different to the situation with all other Ruby implementations, which require a good knowledge of Ruby and some other language.

I intend to blog initially about some of the cool things that set Rubinius apart from other Ruby implementations, as well as covering some of the challenges in building the Rubinius debugger. So if you are interested in Rubinius, check back here periodically, and let me know what you think!

Cheers,

Adam

One Response to “Hello World!”

  1. Adam, thank you for your posts, they are very interesting and insightful. A small note: the link to the atom feed on the homepage seems to point to the theme designer’s web site.

Leave a Reply

